Posted in ODP Voices

The Beauty of Africa

By: Our Daily Poetry Family

#ODP_Voices – Week 19

image

[This is our story about Mother Africa. From the wildebeest migration at Masai Mara, Kenya; The famous Victoria falls on the Zambezi river; The Okavango Delta in Botswana, The rich cultures of Nigeria to the Table Mountain in Cape Town, South Africa. Africa is blessed with immense beauty. We come together to shower praises to this beautiful land. This is Africa!]

Conducted & Compiled by Matolo Kyalo Jr., Kenya.

ODPoet: Matolo Kyalo Jr.
Country: Kenya

~ My African Story ~

Africa, O Africa!
Many stories have been told
Many legends have been born
Little streams have drained into The Nile and The Congo
Big rivers have fed the Indian and the Atlantic
Diani Beach stretches gracefully beyond the horizon
The majestic Kilimanjaro towers over the entire continent
Our cultures are distinct and authentic

The Zulu
The Maasai
The Yoruba
The Tswana
The Shona
The Baganda

Without Africa, the world would cease to exist
Our resources are in abundance
Our diversity is our strength
Ebola, HIV and poverty give us a reason to fight
This is where struggle brings happiness
Diamonds are found in the dirt
Above all,
True beauty is found in our hearts
Giving hope with unlimited creativity.

God bless Africa.

ODPoet: Isaac Praiz
Country: Nigeria

SERENE AFRICA

To distant lands, from shore to shore
The beat that drums our heart, our call
Birds of every feather, together she lore
To her beauty, the warmth of her breath, come one come all
The freshness her fountains harness
Soothing natures cry
Her pleasure caress
Moaning to distant shores, they pry
In her color we glory
Stronger as one, we ebony

Flowing with milk and honey
Surely not from diaries and bees
With lands rich as green
Though not manured from cattle dung
We’re gentle, we’re black, we’re strong
Like Ebony from Sambisa jungle
We’re the giant of the nations that rest at
Africa’s trigger!!!

ODPoet: Morton Msowoya
Country: Malawi

Mama Africa

It is your natural beauty
With no make up
That lured Westerners
To pay you a visit
And perambulate
With a tricky list?
Coming as missionaries
Saying; “dear don’t have worries,
Mine is to give hope
So dope”
But it wasn’t
Minerals gone!
Ask Mugabe
Who raped you mama?
Who took your virginity?
Leaving you in Vanity?
Mama Africa!
All in all you still beautiful
With you I feel full.

Oh! Queen Africa
You’re blessed with a Warm heart-Malawi
Kilimanjaro
Your hero
The crater of Ngorongoro
Nile river
In abundance of beauty
Well designed like a human head
As I touch you chin-South Africa
Reminds me of our first date
The day I was born
For you’re my love!

ODPoet: Gomezga Chirambo
Country: Malawi

MOTHER AFRICA

From all corners and angles of you
Beauty is what describe you best
You have no competitor
You are number one when it comes to beauty
Africa the only land so rich
With both hidden and exposed riches
Though there are things that tries to ruin you
Floods earthquake’s
But am glad you are strong
As time goes
You maintain your strength and regain your weight
I love you mama Africa

All the children you gave birth to
Have their uniqueness
Which other continents can tell of
They are enriched with great culture
Minerals
And above all
Beautiful people called Africans
I love you mother Africa.

ODPoet: Effie
Country: Kenya

~ The Glow of the Mighty Africa ~

The sun shines throughout your world,
Rain falls on our seas and land,
A breeze worth feeling the wind,
All this is common to all
yet they feel better in Africa,
The  cold rain the refreshes,
even the dryness of stale humanity,
A blessing that we always love,
Even when the sun glows hot
and our lands can’t bear the deficiency
When famine and drought pull us apart
And claims lives of fellow kinsmen
It’s the African spirit of humanity,
Even in the weirdest of moments,
We come together for the purpose of attaining one goal
Proud of all this,
Our culture that is alive
in our hearts mind and thru our lifestyle,
From way back, Africa is a blessing,
Memories made from history,
Stay alive and fresh in their minds,
Love for each other mends all her worries
The only thing that keeps her alive,
The love that is never broken,
That even when you hurt her she’ll be all well
I keep her close to my heart,
Where she should always be,
I would never let her go,
I remember how she built me
from childhood til now,
I am proud of Africa.

ODPoet: Apollo James
Country: Kenya

BEAUTIFUL AFRICA

Standing on the edge
Of the cape in Capetown
As giant waves plummet against cliffs,
Where lions roar with diligence
And cheetahs race in competence
Doves break the dawn with graceful flying
And the whistle of the Khoisan
In the noon in Mara
A herd of galloping wildebeest
In a land full of ‘leso’ clad Maasai warriors; a spear
On the left,a sword on the right, a club on the arm right
Steady gaze into the hot noon sun and jingles hung from bored earlobes.
Squirmy eyes fixed to the west, a land of Arafat’s glow and pointy pyramids
Where sand dunes mould into dentures, and seifdunes into temples of Amun re
And the orthogonality defy the Nile;
Who bore Osiris…?
Maybe the gold of ouagodou
Carried by the Touregs
Galloping under the beautiful cocoa trees, that gave way to the loyal palms.
What happened to the humped camels,oh I remember
The queen of the asphalt-black Nilo-saharas; a true beauty of Africa
Rode past Sudan
And fetched a morsel of tropical honeycomb on Sellasie land
And in gaiety of a noble knight
Headed from Ethiopian highlands
And landed in the beauty of Africa, a place of equator-mountain,
That lay on a sacred province..my motherland
They called it Kirinyaga
On land of GEMA and visitors
Where we wove baskets
And gave stories,
Of the beautiful Africa.

ODPoet: Precious Katunga
Country: Malawi

AFRICAN BREED !!

East, west home the best
Am proudly African
Black my skin’s nickname
From dancers continent I come

Bite your tongue as I take you  home
Have you heard of Gule wankulu ?
A fruit of the warm heart of Africa
Galala dance nigeria’s vibrations ?

Soukusos from congo ?
Hlokoloza its South Africa
Have you ever watched an  African dancing?
Master class alingo ?

What about Azonto ?
Gweta?
Don’t be dumb
Let me show you some moves
To prove am an true african breed !!

ODPoet: Mpho Twosly Msoane
Country: South Africa

Greetings African

Kgotsong MaAforika, Dumelang Mazulu, Molweni MaSwati. Goodmorning Kenya,
ejok- Turkana…wemwega-kikuyu…poisho-pokot
…chamgei-nandi…pulai-luyha…
nango- jaluo…bwairire-kisii

I’m an African, the owner of head shaped continent.
Don’t ask my nationality.
I’m an African .
Black skin is my identity…
Accept me, we shall reconcile…
Mimi ni Mwafrika, mwenyeji wa Afrika,
Usiulize nchi yangu,
Mi ni Mwafrika,
Ngozi nyeusi,
Nikubali tuelewane.

Unity within diversity
!ke e:/xarra// ke
We are proud of you Africa…
Your beauty shine across the world
Jah bless Africa.

ODPoet: Joy Wainaina
Country: Kenya

EXQUISITE  AFRICA

From the fascinating Nile that’s ever on the run
Gracefully washing into the Mediterranean
To the pink carpet of flamingoes at L.Nakuru
The courageous wildebeest that will cross R.Mara yearly
Even when the danger of death is imminent
I have lost count of the eggs i have eaten
All courtesy of the hot springs at L.Bogoria
Mt Kilimanjaro tall and graceful as a swan
Ever cold with snow capped peaks
Watching the wildlife here is breathtaking
The rhino giraffe buffalo ostrich
Even the jungle king is all ours to keep
That is just about what my eyes have seen
Talk of what google allows me to see
I hear Victoria falls is a very romantic place
With the water gushing out and falling down with such majesty
The green surrounding will give you a picture of eden
Cape town’s table mountain am told is an extremely exquisite view 
And its only in Africa
You’ll find a people so beautiful 
A continent so rich
Gold diamond  silver oil we got it all
The sandy beaches and the warm climate is just about our best asset
Keeps our white brothers  swarming in yearly
Of course that feeds a number of us
I bet you will agree that everything that is phenomenal
Everything that is peachy and exquisite is all Africa.

ODPoet: Kipchumba
Country: Kenya

The beauty of Africa
greater than that of America..
Our sand beaches beautiful than those in Costa Rica.
Amazing nativity from Cape blanc to Cape of Good hope
Mutual relationship and cohesion from Cape Verde to Cape Guadafui.
Endowed with natural features recognized worldwide,the 7th wonder of the world,the worlds longest river,the worlds largest fresh water lake.
Greatest talents we have world best marathoners,record holder in various fields are in Africa 800m,300m name them
World class footballers Drogba,Yaya , Wanyama etc..
Greatest leaders off all times Nelson Mandela Koffi Anan John Kufor Mwalimu nyerere the list is endles..
Africa is amazing,no stanza can hold all about Africa.
A-mazing
F-raternity that
R-ejuvanates
I-nfinite
C-hampionshp amngst
A-fricans.

ODPoet: Lisa Banda
Country: Malawi

Africa, my motherland,
In you I take great pride,
So much beauty to behold,
Home of extinct wildlife,
Fresh water lakes full of life,
Mountains,valleys and plateaus,
From Africa, everything good springs.
I love Africa!

The beauty of Africa,
Lies not only in its landscape,
The beautiful sceneries and all.
Its true beauty stems from our hearts,
We are a united people.
Malawi, Africa’s heart, so warm,
I’m glad to call it home.
God bless Africa!

ODPoet: Rufus
Country: Kenya

Oh God of all creation
Bless this our land and all the nations
With all this beauty we have that I will mention
In this few minutes of this session

Africa our beautiful land in which we live
With so much in it we all see
From the wild beasts in the Mara
To the deserts in the Sahara
The African culture
That the Maasai, Turkana have dearly natured

Our all time heroes
Who brought us from zero
The late Nelson Mandela
Not forgetting the champion Catherine Ndereba
Our own Mwalimu Nyerere
I’ll always remember the story about Luanda Magere
Pyramids all over Egypt
And all the resources all over it

Africa My Land.
Kenya My Mother Land.

©Rufus

ODPoet: Stara Chiru
Country: Kenya

I want run and feel the sun on my skin
I want to climb the mountains
To feel and touch the ice cold snow on them
I want to watch the blue rivers as they flow
I want to see them the endless oceans
I want to sing the songs of my people
To dance the magic of my culture
I want to eat what my ancestors invented
I want to drink the bitter bear they brew
I want to listen to the stories of the legends
As as i sit round the fire with my brothers
I want to see the animals they hunted
I want to go deep in the green forest
I want to fill my eyes with the beauty of nature
One only found in my motherland
I want to explore the richness in Africa
I want to learn the sweet culture of its people
I want their joy and warmth to fill me
So that i never want to leave this place
And when I speak of my homeland
I will stand up tall and say
Africa is blessed.

ODPoet: Phillip Odhiambo
Country: Kenya

MY AFRICA

My motherland
My Africa
This is the joy I have for my land
A continent I pride for
Its shape!!
Its just like an art work
This keeps my cheeks dotting with a blush
Africa reminds me of a baby deer;
Its eyes are wide and open:like the heart of an African
Its cries are soft and gentle
That I once thought it Marvel
Marveling at the landscape
The mountain
They stand upright
No leaning , no pleading
The rivers ..the lakes
So fresh are its waters
That your thirst it thrusts away in a whisker
Then you think it ” magic water”
“All come to see me
All come to live here
All come to spend there time
Those that fly
Those that ride
Those that cycle
All are welcomed
To my motherland”

Why I love Africa
Not that I have not travelled away from Africa
Its a shoulder to lean on
Its a site to venture in
The rocks whisper adventure
The sand dunes whispers to camels
The cactus are so fat
Oh my motherland
You are my wonder
A wonder of my life
Talk of pangea
Talk of evolution
You’ll trace its route to Africa
Its a land of brains
“My child eat fish n you’ll be clever” -grandma’s words o still hear
All is fresh from Africa
We children of Africa
Its a pride we hold
Even a cold wind whipping through the atmosphere cant stop us from loving Africa
Even an African’s face aint like a man who pain spreads on his face like pins n needles
Noo no more pins for us
Its eternal loyalty
No more shock knocking air from our lungs to leave Africa.

Don’t miss an ODP Topic.
Like us on Facebook: Our Daily Poetry

Thanks for stopping by  🙂

ODP™ Forever.

Author:

Our job is to use creative writing in inspiring and giving hope to the modern society. Every moment is a story. What is your story?

Leave a comment