Posted in ODP Voices

Y.O.L.O. (You Only Live Once)

By: Our Daily Poetry Family

#ODP_Voices – Week 23

image

[This is our story about taking every opportunity that comes our way and exploiting it to the maximum. You only have one lifetime.]

ODPoet: Frida Salama
Country: Kenya

Run towards the wind
Try finding where it comes from
Or try to catch it
Inhale it, see if it can fill your tummy
Impossible it is but its fun
You only live once, celebrate.

Hold drops of rain in the palms
Slide in mud in bare feet
Listen to whispers of trees in rain, talk to them
Then stand up shout and scream your lungs out
Have fun, celebrate
You only live once

ODPoet: Esther Msiska
Country: Malawi

You only live once
Make the best of life
Be happy
And sad
To know all life experiences

Don’t miss out on life
Fall in love
Make love to last you a lifetime
Enjoy the scenery
The nature
People and everything around
Because at the end of the time
You Only Live Once.

ODPoet: Abu Bakr (White)
Country: Nigeria

Life is journey of no return
With scrabbled paths where some end at the point others had just begun
Today, it might be you laying tracks and tomorrow, the stars are what you can avoid to follow
Life is two faced, show to it that you’re the best of your kind to ever liveth
Live every moment of your life to the fullest
Caress and embrace every part of it because failure to do so might cause you beloved grief and sorrow
The golden rule to measure a happy life with is knowing that you only live once
This second, you own everything, the next, they’re all gone
Dreams get crashed, hopes vanish and your whole world feels done
At the end, you get to realise that you only live once.

ODPoet: Precious Maliwa
Country: Malawi

Let your pen write
What your brain thinks
Without fear or favor
Let your mouth sing
The song from your heart unrestrained
Without looking to the right or left
Allow your feet take you to the palace
Where you will not be served with garbage but fried cabbage
Let your soul feed on your kindness and courage
And if you are to love
On this journey
Love every mile you walk
Regardless of a broken smile
For You Only Live Once.

ODPoet: Delroy White
Country: Malawi

Y.O.L.O says so, right?

“You Only Live Once!”, they scream,
Which, in me, stirs a debate
A debate that gets me irate;
Is this acronym a motto or just an excuse?
For if the latter, then we should truly refuse!
Why have an excuse to allow such gross uncouth especially among our youth???

Why not use it to love today?
                      explore today?
                      taste today?
            authenticate today?
                    improve today?
                      BE today???
Why use it to EXTIRPATE today?

Why? Because Y.O.L.O says so right?

ODPoet: Rufus Kerry
Country: Kenya

Let’s party like there’s no tomorrow
Let’s be happy,today we forget all the sorrow
Everyone raise your voice and shout YOLO!

Its true You only live once
Live today,tomorrow you might not get a chance
Dance to every beat,make your body move with its trance
I’m in the mood to lose  control
Cz you only live once after all.

ODpoet: Isaac Praiz
Country: Nigeria

I ONLY LIVE ONCE (I.O.L.O)

Life is twin
The front yet the back
Time to plant, time to reap
Perfection yet the flaws
The reality we live
Tomorrow, only a mirage we see
The dreams we try to be,
they only may become
Life is one
So live it twice
Cheer in your sorrow
Despise your shame
Laugh at your tears
Pleasure in your pain
Flex every moment
And if they ask you why
Just holla I.O.L.O

ODpoet: MATTHEW (Gods Favourite Stream)
Country: Nigeria

Yielding to the call of life
Oh, my soul leaps for joy
Unutterable eagerness as my ride
                      BUT
Obfuscation is what welcomes me
Nattering with fortune, she says to me
“Love is the secret to live right”
Yoking with love is what I pledged

Life then turns a smiling face at me
Indeed, life is meant for merriment!
Vacation from heaven’s cottage
Enjoyment galore is my experience

Oh friends, lets dance to the melody of life, but a
Nasty feeling overrides our path
Coldness governs my body and soul, and my
Eyes open to a place unknown…

My soul groans for another ride
But a voice whispers from the
Chariot of zephyr, saying
“You Only Live Once”

ODPoet: Lisa Banda
Country: Malawi

Go new places,meet new faces.
Love till u got no more love to give,
Laugh loud till your tummy aches,
Be happy and in any storm,just breathe!
Be kind,don’t judge,don’t hold a grudge!
Grab every opportunity and seize it.

There is only one you,be the best you possibly can!
And after each day, never go to bed with regrets,
Wishing you’d done something that you didn’t!
Do all you can while you still can,
as long as it pleases God!
You only live once on planet earth!make the most of it!

ODPoet: Joy Munde
Country: Kenya

IT’S MY LIFE

Today was once a tomorrow,
And will soon be a yesterday,
And there are no days,only moments
But still I will be myself
I will give us joy and give us pain
I may hurt your soul while loving your soul
And still weep and laugh,
But in all I will live my humanness
I will live it all now…
It is my life

All that was and all that is
And all that will be and never be
I will still remain the me I am
At this point I give a shout to all,
That a fresh breeze whooshes past
A new surge of energy flow deep in my veins
Yes
I’m all up for self-love
Laugh more,laughed less
Hurt more,be hurt more
Love less,loved more
But live more…
I will live more…
As you only live once…
I only live once.

©Joy🌹

ODP™ Forever.

Author:

Our job is to use creative writing in inspiring and giving hope to the modern society. Every moment is a story. What is your story?

Leave a comment